Menu More MORE
Roadside... Roadside Assistance


Local Safety Officials Hosting Media Event to Promote Back-to-School Safety

boy with backpack in front of school bus

EC hor.jpg                      KY_Transportation_Cabinet.jpg                      KOHS-outline-horz.png                         JCPS logo color.png

AAA East Central, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Kentucky Office of Highway Safety, and Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) are teaming up in an effort to bring awareness to the importance of school zone safety as summer comes to an end.

Media Opportunity – The safety partners are hosting a media event to remind motorists and parents to be extra cautious as school zones become more active with students taking the bus and walking to school.  Reporters and photographers are invited to the site where JCPS bus drivers are trained to discuss the following topics:

  • The importance of obeying school zone traffic laws
  • The school bus driver training process
  • Pedestrian safety tips
  • Avoiding distracted driving around buses and school zones

AAA East Central
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
Kentucky Office of Highway Safety
Jefferson County Public Schools

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of unintentional injury-related deaths among school children ages 5-18.  Moreover, nearly 1 in 5 of every child 14 and younger who dies in a traffic crash is a pedestrian.  By promoting pedestrian and driver safety, and by providing valuable information for parents, these safety partners hope to put school zone safety at the front of everyone’s mind as districts begin the new academic year. 

Friday, August 10
10:30 a.m.

JCPS Van Hoose Center Annex
4401 Bishop Ln., Louisville, KY

For More Information, Contact:
Lynda Lambert, Safety Advisor & Media Spokesperson
Desk: 502-779-3610 / Cell: 502-565-7410 / Email:



CST 1016202-80 Copyright © AAA East Central. All Rights Reserved.
AAA East Central is a member club affiliated with the American Automobile Association (AAA) national federation and serves members in Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.