Menu More MORE
Roadside... Roadside Assistance

AAA to Honor Area Police for Traffic Safety Efforts

Wheeling Area Police Departments to Be Honored with Prestigious AAA Awards

chp car parked

10 Wheeling area police departments will be awarded AAA’s prestigious Platinum Community Traffic Safety Award for their safety efforts.  Nine additional departments will receive gold, silver, and bronze awards.

The following Police Departments will be recognized by AAA East Central: Belington Police, Benwood Police, Brooke County Sheriff’s Office, Cameron Police, Follansbee Police, Hancock County Sheriff’s Office, Marshal County Sheriff’s Office, McMechan Police, Moundsville Police, New Cumberland Police, New Martinsville Police, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office, Paden City Police, Wheeling Police, Wellsburg Police, Weirton Police, Wetzel County Sheriff’s Office, WV State Police Troop 1 Moundsville, and WV State Police Troop 1 Wheeling.

Motor vehicle crashes in and around Wheeling are a major cause of property damage, injury, and death each year.  The officers to be honored through the AAA Community Safety Awards Program continue to strive to reduce the number of fatalities by conducting educational programs and promotional campaigns to encourage the development of safe driving habits.

Thursday, November 2nd, 11:30 a.m.

Olive Garden
510 Cabela Drive
Triadelphia, WV

AAA East Central is a not-for-profit association with 81 local offices in Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and West Virginia serving 2.7 million members.  News releases are available at  Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

For More Information, Contact:
Jim Garrity, Public & Community Relations Manager
Desk: 412-365-7274 / Cell: 412-905-9021 / Email:


CST 1016202-80 Copyright © AAA East Central. All Rights Reserved.
AAA East Central is a member club affiliated with the American Automobile Association (AAA) national federation and serves members in Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.